Three Area Communities Earn Bicycle-Friendly Designation

The League of American Bicyclists have announced their latest Bicycle Friendly Communities, and three cities in the region have earned a coveted place on this prestigious list:

Cedar Falls, Iowa

Columbia, Missouri

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Each of these cities have become the first communities in their states to earn the “Bicycle Friendly Community” designation.

The Bicycle Friendly Communities program recognize communities for their efforts in promoting bicycling, and awards designations at four levels: Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum (with Platinum being the most bicycle-friendly).

They join the existing regional member of this elite club:

This leaves only Arkansas, among Kansas’s neighboring states, without a single bicycle-friendly community. But as recently reported, they have several cities striving for that prize.

Congratulations to all the new Bicycle Friendly Communities!

Read more from Bikes Belong: 2009 Bicycle Friendly Communities and States Announced

Read more about Columbia’s award: MoBikeFed,, Carbon Trace

Post tags:

About The Author

By Randy Rasa, editor/webmaster at Kansas Cyclist, the web's premier Kansas cycling information site, featuring authoritative guides to Kansas cycling clubs, bike shops, organized bike rides, touring, trails, and much more. [learn more]

Comments are closed.